Daniel Szabo wins the ASCAP Foundation/Symphonic Jazz Orchestra Commissioning Prize

The ASCAP Foundation and the Symphonic Jazz Orchestra are pleased to announce Daniel Szabo as the recipient of the 4th Annual ASCAP Foundation/Symphonic Jazz Orchestra Commissioning Prize. This prize was created to honor the memory of the trailblazing musician George Duke, who was the SJO Co- Music Director and an ASCAP board member.
Daniel Szabo is a performer-composer who has recorded and produced eight albums featuring his original work. He’s also worked on a great number of recordings as a collaborator with such artists as Patrick Williams, Bob Sheppard, Jimmy Haslip, Kim Richmond, and John Zorn. He has toured worldwide and won multiple awards, including the Grand Prize of the City of Paris at the International Martial Solal Jazz Piano Competition as well as the Montreux Jazz Piano Solo Contest in Switzerland.
“I am extremely thrilled and honored to receive this prestigious award and very much looking forward to composing a new work for the SJO” – Daniel Szabo
The ASCAP Foundation/SJO Commissioning Prize is made possible in part by a grant from The ASCAP Foundation Louis Armstrong Fund and the SJO’s Commissioning Club. Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education, talent development and humanitarian programs.
We look forward to hearing Szabo’s newly commissioned work at our free community concert at the Carpenter Performing Arts Center in Long Beach in 2019/20.



PRIZE: $5,000 commissioning prize to compose a new work for the 67-member Symphonic Jazz Orchestra (“SJO”).

PURPOSE:  To commission a new orchestral score for the SJO, blending the worlds of jazz & classical music – and beyond.

The newly commissioned work will be premiered by the SJO in 2019/20 and entered into the SJO’s catalog of symphonic jazz commissions.

Created in 2002, the 67-member SJO is dedicated to blending the worlds of jazz and classical music through its commissioning, performing and educational programs. Led by Music Director, Mitch Glickman, the ensemble has performed throughout Southern California with such leading guest artists as Dave Grusin, Christian McBride, Raul Midon,  Lee Ritenour, Ernie Watts, The Yellowjackets, Miguel Zenon, and our former Co-Music Director and ASCAP board member, George Duke. The ASCAP Foundation/Symphonic Jazz Orchestra Commissioning Prize is made possible in part by a grant from The ASCAP Foundation Louis Armstrong Fund.

The composer agrees to assign the rental administration of commissioned work (the “Composition”) to Symphonic Jazz Orchestra Music (the “Administrator”), the publishing designee of the SJO.  Administrator will print all orchestra parts and scores. The composer will retain the copyright of the commissioned work.


All direct composer members of ASCAP. No age or geographic restrictions.


Postmark no later than August 31, 2018.


  • Completed application form (Online Submission Is Preferred).
  • One entry per composer.
  • Representative score of ONE original instrumental work written since 2010. Ideally, this work is scored for full orchestra, chamber orchestra, or large ensemble that integrates elements of jazz or other related genres.
  • Please submit bound score (copy, not original manuscript). Unbound scores will NOT be accepted.
  • Optional CD recording of the work may be submitted or an electronic realization with your submission.
  • Composer Biography and list of works must be included with the bound score.
  • All scores and CDs shall remain the property of the composer. If you wish materials to be returned, the entry must be accompanied by a Self-Addressed Envelope (Mailer) with sufficient return postage (SASE).
  • Please note that Post Office rules REQUIRE a POSTAGE METER STAMP for returning all packets weighing over 13 ounces. Regular postage stamps will not be accepted.
  • Proper care will be taken to protect all music materials submitted, but each applicant releases all persons connected with the SJO (including the members of the Screening Panel and Selection Committee) and The ASCAP Foundation from any claims resulting from possible loss and/or destruction of works/CDs/materials submitted.
PO Box 1421
Culver City CA 90232

Composers will be notified by Oct. 31, 2018


Members of the Symphonic Jazz Orchestra’s Music Advisory Board.


Administrator shall have the exclusive rights to include the Composition into its catalog of commissioned works and to rent print versions of the Composition to other ensembles.

Administrator shall have perpetual worldwide right to perform, record, administer and exploit the Composition and to execute jointly along with the composer’s publisher, and with the express permission of composer’s publisher, any and all licenses and agreements whatsoever affecting or respecting the Composition solely with regard to the public performance and rental of print versions of the Composition.  The composer acknowledges and agrees that Administrator shall be named “co-publisher” of Composition as administrator of 50% of the publishing share with the appropriate performing rights society and shall be entitled to and shall receive and directly collect 50% of the publisher’s share from ASCAP.

ASCAP Foundation/Symphonic Jazz Orchestra Commissioning Prize Entry Form

Music Advisory Board

Music Advisory Board

Billy Childs

John Clayton

Joseph Conlan

Rashid Duke

Peter Erskine

Mitch Glickman

Ruth Cameron Haden

Eddie Karam

Christian McBride

Bob Mintzer

Ernie Watts


ASCAP Foundation/Symphonic Jazz Orchestra Commissioning Prize

PO Box 1421

Culver City, CA 90232  USA