George Duke Commissioning Prize Entry Form & Information

To honor the legacy of the trailblazing musician, former Symphonic Jazz Orchestra (SJO) Co-Music Director and ASCAP board member, George Duke, the SJO will open the George Duke Commissioning Prize competition to all direct ASCAP composer members on April 17, 2015, with a submission deadline of July 17th. The Music Advisory Board of the SJO will select the winning composer, who will be commissioned to write a new orchestral score for the SJO blending jazz & classical music – and more. The newly commissioned work will be premiered by the 67-piece SJO in 2016/17.

The Symphonic Jazz Orchestra/George Duke Commissioning Prize is made possible in part by a grant from The ASCAP Foundation Louis Armstrong Fund and the Bart Howard Fund.

Contest Guidelines

Entry Form

Have a Question? Contact Us

Share This Post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn
  • 1
  • 2

Founded in 2001, the Symphonic Jazz Orchestra is a non-profit organization dedicated to perpetuating the uniquely American genre of symphonic jazz through its commissioning program, and inspiring the next generations of listeners through its “Music in the Schools” program, and Community Outreach Program.   Learn More